Fashion Round Up

Since Instagram is where the idea for this blog started, I thought it was only right to do a round up of some of my favorite pictures for my FIRST BLOG POST!  As you can see, I use Instagram to document outfits of the day- I have had no social media training nor do I have a professional photographer; however, you can still see the clothes, shoes, jewelry, etc. which is the point of the photos anyway.

One of my favorite fashion trends over the last year is pattern mixing.  I’ve always been a sucker for a printed top with a colored cardigan on top, but when I found out I could wear two prints, I got pretty excited.  I feel like prints are so much more expressive and fun than just a solid colored top or pant.  Plus they add a little pizzazz to an otherwise uninteresting outfit.  The only trick to pattern mixing was learning how to combine two prints without looking like I belonged in a circus.  I found that wearing one bold print at a time while layering with a subtle print with similar colors was the easiest way to create a cohesive look.  I still like to try and combine new patterns from my closet any chance I get.

Some other fun trends have been half buns, cold shoulder tops, and distressed denim.  I was so nervous to try half buns because at first I thought they were a bit out there.  After perfecting them to a science I love to throw half my hair into bun as an easy, yet polished look.  Cold shoulder tops took no getting used to.  As long as the cuts in the sleeves were flattering and weren’t cut too short or too high, I bee lined straight for them in the store.  They look so fun, yet are appropriate to wear to any function.  I’ve even carried them over into winter by adding a sweater vest on top.  And who could forget about distressed denim.  Distressed denim was a bit difficult because I didn’t want to look like a total mess who hadn’t replaced her jeans in years.  There is definitely a balance between looking like a tattered mess and finding reinforced, properly placed rips and tears.  As distressed denim seems to be fading a bit from the spotlight, I’m starting to incorporate some of my regular denim back into my daily outfits.

Finally, I LOVE BOOTIES.  They are hands down my favorite trend of the season.  I have a pair in all neutral colors (woops!) so that I can wear them everyday.  If they have some fringe or leather detailing, I’m even more of a sucker for them.  I feel like they look professional, but are much more comfortable and functional than high heels.  I’ve had foot problems in the past, so comfort and stability are a must.

These are a few of my favorite trends and posts from my Instagram account.  It gives you an idea of my fashion inspiration and style.  I love colors, patterns, and bling – this is just a start of what is to come!

XOXO,

Allie

As the new year began, most people gained a renewed sense of strength; I, however, struggled to stay focused and driven this week.  This verse reminded me that as long as I have my faith, I don’t have to fear.  God will lead me where I need to go and help me do the things I cannot imagine doing on my own.

“Be on your guard; stand firm in the faith; be courageous; be strong.” 1 Corinithians 16:13
Have a blessed week friends!

download-7download-1download-2downloaddownload-10download-8download-5download-4download-3download-6download-9

Leave a Reply

