How To Decide If You Should Splurge or Save

Have you ever been inside a store, picked up a fabulous designer bag and thought to yourself… Should I really spend the money on this?  Is it better to splurge or save?  I’ll walk you through a list of things it’s OK to spend a little extra on and other items that I snag when they’re on sale.

SPLURGE:

  1. Designer Handbag: Handbags are the perfect item to splurge on because they’re an item that won’t go out of style and you can carry for years to come.  Make sure you don’t splurge on a bag that is on trend, instead buy bags that are classic and you won’t tire of easily.  I gravitate towards neutral bags: grey, tan, black, or brown when I want to splurge.

          These bags will stand the test of time and will match your everyday clothes, so you’ll             get plenty of use out of them.  I linked some of my favorite “splurge” bags below!

kate-spade-bags

1. Grey Michael Kors Tote 2. Black Kate Spade Tote  3. Acorn Michael Kors Satchel

     2. Coat: A great jacket, bought in neutral tones, can be worn for many years.  If you live        somewhere where winter is only one of four seasons, your coat won’t get enough wear that it has to be replaced each year.  Plus, coats are a necessity, so spending a little extra on one that will provide warmth, fits great, and will get plenty of use is a fashion staple worth splurging on.  I’ve linked some of my favorites below!

classic-coats

1. T. Tahari Wool Belted Coat 2. Michael Kors Blush Double Breasted Coat

3. Watch: As long as you’re not the type of person that changes your watch to match your outfit, a watch is definitely a splurge item.  A classic watch will go with your outfit everyday and I’ve found that watches you splurge on, hold up much better than watches I was excited to score on sale.  Plus, most designer watch brands offer great warranties and free battery replacement options- which make the splurge totally worth it to me! I’ve linked a couple below!

daniel-wellington-watches

1. Michael Kors Jaryn Pave Two-Tone Watch 2. Daniel Wellington Watch

SAVE:

  1. Jeans: Many people argue that jeans should be an investment piece because they’re so versatile and worn on so many occasions.  I would agree, except jean styles and trends change with every season, so I choose not to splurge on them.  In just the past couple of years, we’ve seen jean trends from skinny to flare, bell bottom to straight leg, distressed to cropped, and these are just a few of the styles.  I would recommend finding a brand of jeans that you love, Loft, Banana Republic, Ann Taylor, etc. and waiting for your favorite pair to go on sale.  This can make a $50 pair of jeans more affordable at about $25 for a pair.  At this price point, you can purchase the latest trend in jeans when the next season rolls around.  I’ve linked some favorites below!

jean-collage

1. American Eagle Distressed Skinny Jeans 2. Loft Skinny Dark Wash Jeans 3.Banana Republic Ankle Jeans

2. Tops: I’ve never seen a top that was worth splurging on.  Top styles change and vary so much from season to season that it is never worth it for me to pay the extra money on a top that will last one or two seasons.  Plus, tops are probably the clothing piece that I purchase most often.  I want to have a cold shoulder top, a new sweater, a poncho, a cape, a bell sleeved shirt, etc.   With all of these options I can’t justify splurging on any one top.  I’ve linked some reasonably priced tops below!

1.Ruffle Tie Neck Blouse (40% off) 2. Sequined Knit Poncho 3. Forever 21 White Cape

3. Shoes: Because of the wear and tear that shoes goes through, I never splurge on a single pair. (With the exception of tennis shoes purchased for the purpose of working out or a good pair of snow boots if you live somewhere that you get large amounts of snow) Just like with tops, shoe styles change so often and are so different from season to season, that it’s best to find a pair on sale or at least purchase them for a reasonable price.  This way, you can buy more styles, and don’t have to fret when a particular shoe goes out of style.  I’ve linked some cute pairs below!

shoe-collage

1.Charlotte Russe Booties 2. Bearpaw Boots on Sale 3. Gap Black Flats

Overall:

 It’s up to you and your budget to decide if you should splurge or save.  When wrestling with a decision, I suggest you ask yourself the following questions: How often will I wear this?  Will it last more than one season?  Is it a neutral color?  How many outfits will this piece compliment?  Is it worth it to me?  If you can justify that enough of these answers point to splurging, go for it!  Otherwise, shop around, find coupons, scope out sales, and save  yourself some money.  By splurging on long-lasting necessities, I get to fill my closet with more on trend pieces that I love, but ultimately the decision is up to you.

wardrobe2

XOXO,

Allie

Going to a church named, Good Shepherd Lutheran Church, Psalm 23 is referenced quite often.

 “The LORD is my shepherd, I lack nothing. He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside quiet waters, he refreshes my soul. He guides me along the right paths for his name’s sake.  Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me. You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies. You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows. Surely your goodness and love will follow me all the days of my life, and I will dwell in the house of the LORD forever.” -Psalm 23
I have great familiarity with this verse as it has long been one of my mom’s favorites.  I have to say, as I’ve grown older it gives me comfort as well.  The phrase about “walking through the shadow of the valley of death and fearing no evil,” is so powerful.  Having to fear nothing, but in turn, placing all my worries with God is the way I make it through the toughest days.
Have a blessed week friends!
Leave a Reply

